Neighbourhood Square Mile

Discovery

A prestigious neighbourhood in 19th-century Canada.

Sumptuous Victorian residences, noteworthy institutions, mansions, great thoroughfares and shady streets, parks and monuments define the character of this residential neighbourhood, once home to Canada's anglophone upper class.

A prosperous neighbourhood moulded by a core of mostly Scottish businessmen, its original area was about one square mile, hence the name. It was bounded by Dorchester Street (nowaday René-Lévesque Boulevard), Mount Royal Park, Côte-des-Neiges Road and University Street.

With urban development, these limits were extended, and some grand houses in the area made way for highrises. Despite this, a rich built heritage has survived the pressures of demography and speculation, thanks to the exemplary preservation efforts of many citizens.

The Square Mile is part of the Mount Royal Natural and Historical District and includes the McGill University campus, the McCord Museum of Canadian History, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts and many other attractions that may be discovered by strolling along Sherbrooke Street West.

Image : HM_ARC_000928

"Ravenscrag Residence", ("The Board of Trade of Montreal. The Metropolis of the Dominion"), Montreal, The Trade Review Publishing Company, 1909, p. 44

quartier Square Mile

découvrez

Un quartier prestigieux dans le Canada du XIXe siècle.

Demeures victoriennes somptueuses, Institutions remarquables, hôtels particuliers, grandes artères et rues ombragées, parcs et monuments définissent le visage de ce quartier résidentiel de la grande bourgeoisie anglophone canadienne.

Quartier prospère formé par un noyau de gens d'affaires à majorité écossaise, sa superficie équivaut à l'origine à près d'un mille carré, d'où son nom, qui s'étend entre les rues Dorchester (actuellement boulevard René-Lévesque) et le parc du Mont-Royal, le chemin de Côte-des-Neiges et la rue University.

Avec le développement urbain, ces limites se sont étendues et quelques grandes maisons du secteur ont fait place à des tours d'habitation. Malgré tout, un riche patrimoine bâti a survécu aux multiples pressions démographiques et spéculatives grâce à l'engagement exemplaire de nombreux citoyens pour sa protection.

Le square Mile est intégré à l'arrondissement historique et naturel du Mont-Royal. On y retrouve le magnifique campus de l'Université McGill, le Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne, le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et bien d'autres attraits que l'on prend plaisir à découvrir en parcourant la grandiloquente rue Sherbrooke Ouest.

Image : HM_ARC_000928

"Ravenscrag Residence", ("The Board of Trade of Montreal. The Metropolis of the Dominion"), Montreal, The Trade Review Publishing Company, 1909, p. 44
1909
BANQ
© BANQ, © Héritage Montréal