Neighbourhood - Buildings

The Bay



History

Before it bore the symbol of The Bay, the building at 585 Sainte-Catherine Street West housed the Henry Morgan & Company store. Moved up the hill from what is now Old Montreal, the company built this elegant structure, commonly known as “Colonial House”, across from prestigious Phillips Square in 1891. Morgan's was then one of the largest dry goods companies in Canada.

In 1874, Morgan's pioneered catalogue sales which revolutionized people's shopping habits. This was one of the first department stores, and also among the first to display new products in shop windows to promote sales. The postwar economic boom saw the number of stores multiply in the suburbs and other eastern Canadian cities.

In 1960, the Morgan's stores in Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa and Hamilton were bought by Hudson's Bay Company, Canada's oldest retailer, founded in 1670. In Montreal, however, the business was so firmly entrenched in people's habits that the name Morgan's was not changed to The Bay until 1972.

In 2005, the American businessman Jerry Zucker acquired the Hudson's Bay Company. Will the Sainte-Catherine Street store preserve its character, its function and all that it represents in the history of the neighbourhood?

Image : HM_ARC_001428

Ste. Catherine street west at Union Avenue, Victor parade, 1945

3.5 cm x 3.5 cm

Image : HM_ARC_000938

La Baie, façade ("Montreal Illustrated", 1894, p.300)


Image : HM_ARC_001164

Morgan's Store, St. Catherine Street, Montreal, QC, about 1900
N. M. Hinshelwood
About 1900, 19th century or 20th century
21 cm x 16 cm
© McCord Museum, (MP-1985.31.78), © Héritage Montréal

Image : HM_ARC_000975

Le Square Phillips et le magasin Henri Morgan & Co


Image : HM_ARC_000773

Le magasin La Baie, première bâtisse et annexe rue Union
Communauté urbaine de Montréal

20.3 cm x 14 cm

Image : HM_ARC_000307

Ste-Catherine et Union, Magasin "Morgan's"

25.2 cm x 20.2 cm

quartier - ses bâtiments

La Baie



Histoire

Avant d'arborer le symbole de La Baie, l'immeuble du 585, rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest est occupé par le magasin Henry Morgan & Company. Après avoir connu divers endroits dans la ville, l'entreprise fait ériger 1891 cet élégant édifice appelé communément Colonial House, juste en face du prestigieux Square Phillips. Morgan's est alors l'un des plus grands magasins de marchandises sèches au Canada.

En 1874, Morgan's innove avec une pratique de consommation qui révolutionne les habitudes : la vente de produits par catalogue. Le boom économique d'après guerre voit le nombre de magasins se multiplier en périphérie et dans d'autres villes de l'Est du pays. C'est l'un des premiers magasins à rayons et parmi les premiers à exposer de nouveaux produits en vitrine pour promouvoir la vente.

En 1960, la compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson, la plus vieille entreprise de vente au détail au Canada fondée en 1670, achète les magasins Morgan's de Toronto, Montréal, Ottawa et Hamilton. À Montréal, l'entreprise est si bien ancrée dans les habitudes des résidents que le nom Morgan's ne devient La Baie qu'en 1972.

En 2005, l'homme d'affaires américain Jerry Zucker acquiert La Compagnie de la Baie D'Hudson, qui essuie plusieurs déficits depuis quelques années. Le magasin de la rue Sainte-Catherine préservera-t-il son cachet, ses activités et tout ce qu'il évoque pour l'histoire du quartier ?

Image : HM_ARC_001428

Ste. Catherine street west at Union Avenue, Victory parade, 1945
1945
Photographie
3.5 cm x 3.5 cm
McGill University Archives
© McGill University Archives. PR001091 © Héritage Montréal

Image : HM_ARC_000938

La Baie, façade ("Montreal Illustrated", 1894, p.300)
1894
Coupure de presse
BANQ
© BANQ (917.1428 M8113 1894) © Héritage Montréal

Image : HM_ARC_001164

Magasin Morgan, rue Sainte-Catherine, Montréal, QC, vers 1900
N. M. Hinshelwood
Vers 1900, 19e siècle ou 20e siècle
Photographie
21 cm x 16 cm
Musée McCord
© Musée McCord, (MP-1985.31.78), © Héritage Montréal

Image : HM_ARC_000975

Le Square Phillips et le magasin Henri Morgan & Co
Entre 1929 et 1949
Photographie
Ville de Montréal
© Ville de Montréal, Service du développement culturel, de la qualité du milieu de vie et de la diversité ethnoculturelle, Direction des sports, des parcs et des espaces verts, (DM5 no.89554), © Héritage Montréal

Image : HM_ARC_000773

Le magasin La Baie, première bâtisse et annexe rue Union
Communauté urbaine de Montréal
Date inconnue
Photographie
20.3 cm x 14 cm
© Fonds du Service de la mise en valeur du territoire et du patrimoine, Bureau du patrimoine, de la toponymie et de l’expertise, (585, rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Ville-Marie), © Héritage Montréal

Image : HM_ARC_000307

Ste-Catherine et Union, Magasin "Morgan's"
28 août 1956
Photographie
25.2 cm x 20.2 cm
Archives de la STM
© Fonds de Commission de transport de Montréal, Archives de la STM, (3-956-003)© Héritage Montréal