Neighbourhood Saint-Henri

History

1535 1825

1535-1825

Tanneries and hillsides

Both Aboriginals and woodsmen (coureurs de bois) had long used what is now the Saint-Henri neighbourhood to bypass the rapids. With colonization, most of the territory was owned by the Grey Nuns religious community and the Society of the Priests of Saint-Sulpice (Sulpicians). Under the French regime, Jean Talon, the first intendant, focused on the establishment of tanneries here - a stopover on the fur trade route. In 1685, the first tannery was opened near the runoff from the Saint-Pierre River, not far from the Saint-Jacques cliff. With its many small streams and its location far from the city, this spot was ideal, limiting the annoyance from the strong odours created by the tanning of skins and hides.

The Lenoir dite Rolland family became one of the area's major leather producers; in fact, the village formed in 1780, with its some half-dozen tanning workshops, was named Tanneries-des-Rolland.

In the early 19th century, the development of a small community with a chapel school, homes, merchants, and artisans lead to the founding in 1813 of a larger village: Saint-Henri-des-Tanneries.

In 1825, more than half the residents made their living in leather-tanning industries and, over time, the small-scale operations grew into large-scale production facilities.

As for the rapids that hindered travel by water, they were bypassed by the Lachine Canal, a navigable waterway, built primarily by Irish immigrants between 1821 and 1825.

1826 1875

1826-1875

The first phase of industrialization: the canal and the railroad

When it was opened in 1825, the Lachine Canal was almost 14 kilometres long with seven locks and stone bridges. It was widened in 1843-48 and then again in 1873-85.

The Montreal & Lachine railroad, opened in 1847, passed through Saint-Henri and provided another means of bypassing the rapids. In 1851, the railroad was renamed Montreal & New York and extended to PlattsburgI serving as a new link with the great metropolis. The Grand Trunk Railroad, opened in 1859, ran through Saint-Henri on its way to Detroit and later Chicago. Many companies chose to locate on the banks of the canal to benefit from its hydraulic power. During the industrial era, the Saint-Henri landscape was gradually transformed from its rural and small-scale beginnings.

The Saint-Henri-des-Tanneries parish was founded in 1867, just a few years before the establishment of the Saint-Henri municipality in 1875. The first English and French churches and schools were opened. Many country people from south-west Quebec were attracted by the jobs available in Saint-Henri-des-Tanneries. Residential areas expanded and two-story brick row houses were built, generally by real-estate developers.

Image : HM_ARC_005163

The old lock at Lachine

© Library and Archives Canada /C-113716 , © Héritage Montréal


1826-1875

The first phase of industrialization: the canal and the railroad

When it was opened in 1825, the Lachine Canal was almost 14 kilometres long with seven locks and stone bridges. It was widened in 1843-48 and then again in 1873-85.

The Montreal & Lachine railroad, opened in 1847, passed through Saint-Henri and provided another means of bypassing the rapids. In 1851, the railroad was renamed Montreal & New York and extended to PlattsburgI serving as a new link with the great metropolis. The Grand Trunk Railroad, opened in 1859, ran through Saint-Henri on its way to Detroit and later Chicago. Many companies chose to locate on the banks of the canal to benefit from its hydraulic power. During the industrial era, the Saint-Henri landscape was gradually transformed from its rural and small-scale beginnings.

The Saint-Henri-des-Tanneries parish was founded in 1867, just a few years before the establishment of the Saint-Henri municipality in 1875. The first English and French churches and schools were opened. Many country people from south-west Quebec were attracted by the jobs available in Saint-Henri-des-Tanneries. Residential areas expanded and two-story brick row houses were built, generally by real-estate developers.

1876 1929

1876-1929

The second phase of industrialization: an incorporated town

The boundaries of the municipality of Saint-Henri were redrawn a few years after its founding. In 1879, it was bordered to the south by the Lachine Canal, to the east by Atwater Avenue, to the north by the escarpment behind Saint Antoine Street, and to the west by Côte-Saint-Paul Road.

Industry continued to thrive, and the Lachine Canal entered its golden age with companies such as the Moseley and Ricker and the Thomas Ecroyd industrial tanneries, Dominion Textile, RCA, William's Sewing Machine, and Canada Malting.

Working conditions were poor, however, and men, women, and children worked long hours for meagre pay. They fought for better conditions, forming unions and participating in the founding of day care centres and charitable organizations offering assistance to the poor.

Burdened by debts linked to its rapid industrialization, Saint-Henri was annexed to the City of Montreal in 1905. The territory became urbanized, benefiting from public utilities such as street lights, a water supply system, a police force, and fire fighters. Businesses, churches, a market, and a few public parks and recreation centres completed the service offer. Land speculation and the resulting population explosion resulted in poor housing conditions and pollution. Members of the middle class had houses built for themselves, mainly surrounding the two squares, while the workers occupied lodgings in two- or three-story brick buildings. Saint-Henri was a world unto itself - a product of the industrial revolution within a growing metropolis.

Image : HM_ARC_005224

Atlas of the City and Island of Montreal Canada, Town of Saint-Henri
1879
45 cm
72 cm
© Dinu Bumbaru / © Héritage Montréal


1876-1929

The second phase of industrialization: an incorporated town

The boundaries of the municipality of Saint-Henri were redrawn a few years after its founding. In 1879, it was bordered to the south by the Lachine Canal, to the east by Atwater Avenue, to the north by the escarpment behind Saint Antoine Street, and to the west by Côte-Saint-Paul Road.

Industry continued to thrive, and the Lachine Canal entered its golden age with companies such as the Moseley and Ricker and the Thomas Ecroyd industrial tanneries, Dominion Textile, RCA, William's Sewing Machine, and Canada Malting.

Working conditions were poor, however, and men, women, and children worked long hours for meagre pay. They fought for better conditions, forming unions and participating in the founding of day care centres and charitable organizations offering assistance to the poor.

Burdened by debts linked to its rapid industrialization, Saint-Henri was annexed to the City of Montreal in 1905. The territory became urbanized, benefiting from public utilities such as street lights, a water supply system, a police force, and fire fighters. Businesses, churches, a market, and a few public parks and recreation centres completed the service offer. Land speculation and the resulting population explosion resulted in poor housing conditions and pollution. Members of the middle class had houses built for themselves, mainly surrounding the two squares, while the workers occupied lodgings in two- or three-story brick buildings. Saint-Henri was a world unto itself - a product of the industrial revolution within a growing metropolis.

Image : HM_ARC_005155

View of Saint-Henri neighborhood

2.5 cm
3.5 cm
© Jean Bélisle, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005253

Jacques Cartier Monument

13.8 cm
8.6 cm
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004691

Fountain-sculpture at the Georges-Étienne Cartier square

10.1 cm
15.1 cm
© Direction du développement culturel, Ville de Montréal, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003554

Dominion Textile Company (St-Ambroise street)
1909
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Albums de rues E.-Z. Massicotte – MAS 5-35-a, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003627

View of the Lachine canal (from a boat)

© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004191

Montreal from Street Railway Power House chimney, QC, 1896
1896
20 cm
25 cm
© McCord Museum, © Héritage Montréal


1930 1973

1930-1973

Saint-Henri declines

Following the stock market crash of 1929, a social assistance system was created and many public works, such as the construction of Atwater Market and the combined fire hall/police station, were launched to create jobs. From one of the country's major industrial areas , Saint-Henri had become a neighbourhood in decline. Factories closed and companies moved to newer industrial parks. Workers lost their jobs, and many moved to other neighbourhoods. The opening of the Saint Lawrence Seaway in 1959 marked the end of the Lachine Canal as a transportation corridor and a backbone of industrial activity. The canal ceased operations in 1973.

In the 1960's, the demolition of the church and the Saint-Henri College and the construction of the Ville-Marie Expressway and the Turcot Interchange had a devastating impact on the neighbourhood. The Saint-Henri high school, built in a more-or-less brutalist style, was opened. The neighbourhood grew older and poorer but also witnessed the creation of public-minded groups working to protect its quality of life.

Image : HM_ARC_004256

Notre-Dame Street (from the west) from Saint-Henri Street

© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (P20,S3,P39), © Héritage Montréal


1930-1973

Saint-Henri declines

Following the stock market crash of 1929, a social assistance system was created and many public works, such as the construction of Atwater Market and the combined fire hall/police station, were launched to create jobs. From one of the country's major industrial areas , Saint-Henri had become a neighbourhood in decline. Factories closed and companies moved to newer industrial parks. Workers lost their jobs, and many moved to other neighbourhoods. The opening of the Saint Lawrence Seaway in 1959 marked the end of the Lachine Canal as a transportation corridor and a backbone of industrial activity. The canal ceased operations in 1973.

In the 1960's, the demolition of the church and the Saint-Henri College and the construction of the Ville-Marie Expressway and the Turcot Interchange had a devastating impact on the neighbourhood. The Saint-Henri high school, built in a more-or-less brutalist style, was opened. The neighbourhood grew older and poorer but also witnessed the creation of public-minded groups working to protect its quality of life.

Image : HM_ARC_004952

Atwater Market Place
1989-1990
6 cm
6 cm
© Brian Merrett, www.archiguides.com, réf.163X, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005535

Fire station 24 and fire fighter's trucks

© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (VM94Z-626-1), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005157

Saint-Henri fire station

2.5 cm
3.5 cm
© Jean Bélisle, © Héritage Montréal


1974 2008

1974-2008

A new wind blows through Saint-Henri

In 1974, the federal government designated the Lachine Canal a place of social and cultural importance, and, in 1980, the Place Saint-Henri metro station was inaugurated. At that time, almost 50 percent of the neighbourhood's residents were unemployed.

In 1989, the creation of RESO (a group devoted to the economic and social revitalization of the south-west) along with the involvement of unions and business and community groups lead to a series of actions aiming to create jobs, improve facilities and housing access, and enhance the quality of life of residents.

The 1992 urban development plan consolidated the industrial role of the Lachine Canal. The neighbourhood welcomed companies such as Johnson Wire Works, RCA Victor, the McAuslan Microbrewery, Domtex, and the Saint-Henri transport centre as well as a cultural industry (artists, photographers, artisans, and film producers).

Designated the Lachine Canal National Historic Site in 1996, the canal and its surrounding area have been revitalized with the help of both public and private investments. Today, Saint-Henri is both an urban recreational area close to the downtown core and a pleasant working-class neighbourhood. It continues its renewal efforts both to satisfy the aspirations of its existing residents and to attract new resident workers.

Image : HM_ARC_003372

Sketch of Place-Saint-Henri metro station (south entrance)
1974
© Fonds de Commission de transport de Montréal, Archives de la STM (Promenade Janvier 1974), © Héritage Montréal


1974-2008

A new wind blows through Saint-Henri

In 1974, the federal government designated the Lachine Canal a place of social and cultural importance, and, in 1980, the Place Saint-Henri metro station was inaugurated. At that time, almost 50 percent of the neighbourhood's residents were unemployed.

In 1989, the creation of RESO (a group devoted to the economic and social revitalization of the south-west) along with the involvement of unions and business and community groups lead to a series of actions aiming to create jobs, improve facilities and housing access, and enhance the quality of life of residents.

The 1992 urban development plan consolidated the industrial role of the Lachine Canal. The neighbourhood welcomed companies such as Johnson Wire Works, RCA Victor, the McAuslan Microbrewery, Domtex, and the Saint-Henri transport centre as well as a cultural industry (artists, photographers, artisans, and film producers).

Designated the Lachine Canal National Historic Site in 1996, the canal and its surrounding area have been revitalized with the help of both public and private investments. Today, Saint-Henri is both an urban recreational area close to the downtown core and a pleasant working-class neighbourhood. It continues its renewal efforts both to satisfy the aspirations of its existing residents and to attract new resident workers.

Image : HM_ARC_004824

Bird-eye view of the Lachine canal

© Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal Inc. © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005156

RCA Victor studios

2.5 cm
3.5 cm
© Jean Bélisle, © Héritage Montréal

quartier Saint-Henri

Son histoire

1535 1825

1535-1825

Des tanneries, des coteaux

Autochtones et coureurs des bois contournent depuis longtemps les rapides du fleuve en empruntant les terres où se situe l'actuel quartier Saint-Henri.

Avec la colonisation, la communauté religieuse des Soeurs grises ainsi que la compagnie des prêtres de Saint-Sulpice détiennent la majorité du territoire.

Sous le régime français, l'intendant Jean Talon mise sur la création de tanneries dans ce coin de pays, véritable relais sur la route des fourrures. En 1685, une première tannerie est ouverte près de la décharge de la rivière Saint-Pierre, à proximité de la falaise Saint-Jacques. Avec ses moult petits ruisseaux, ce lieu est idéal, loin de la ville, limitant ainsi la diffusion des fortes odeurs résultant du traitement des peaux et du cuir.

La famille de tanneurs Lenoir dite Rolland devient l'un des plus importants fabricants de cuir ; le village formé en 1780, avec plus d'une demi-douzaine de tanneries, porte d'ailleurs le nom de Tanneries-des-Rolland.

Au début du 19e siècle, le développement d'une petite communauté, avec sa chapelle-école, ses habitations, ses petits commerçants et artisans, mène à la création en 1813 d'un village plus vaste : Saint-Henri-des-Tanneries.

Plus de la moitié de ses habitants vit des métiers du cuir en 1825, qui passent progressivement d'organisation artisanale à production industrielle.

Quant aux rapides qui bloquent le trafic par voie d'eau, ils sont contournés par une voie navigable construite principalement par des immigrants irlandais en 1821-1825.

1826 1875

1826-1875

Une première phase d'industrialisation : canal et chemin de fer

Lors de son inauguration en 1825, le canal, long de près de 14 kilomètres, comprend sept écluses et ponts de pierre. Il est élargi en 1843-48 puis en 1873-85.

Le chemin de fer Montréal & Lachine, inauguré en 1847, sert de voie de contournement des rapides, et passe notamment par Saint-Henri. En 1851, rebaptisé Montréal & New York et prolongé à Plattsburg, il sert de nouveau lien avec la grande métropole. En 1859, le réseau du Grand Tronc traverse le quartier en direction de Détroit et plus tard Chicago. Diverses entreprises s'installent sur les berges du canal, pour profiter entre autres choses de son pouvoir hydraulique. De rural et artisanal, le paysage de Saint-Henri se transforme au rythme de la croissance industrielle.

La paroisse Saint-Henri-des-Tanneries est fondée en 1867, quelques années avant l'établissement de la municipalité Saint-Henri (1875) proprement dite. Les premières églises et les premiers bâtiments scolaires voient le jour, autant chez les anglophones que chez les francophones. Saint-Henri-des-Tanneries attire, grâce à ses emplois, beaucoup de ruraux du sud-ouest du Québec. Les zones résidentielles s'accroissent ; des maisons de brique à deux étages en rangée sont construites, le plus souvent par des promoteurs immobiliers.

Image : HM_ARC_005163

La vieille écluse à Lachine

Dessin
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada /C-113716 , © Héritage Montréal


1826-1875

Une première phase d'industrialisation : canal et chemin de fer

Lors de son inauguration en 1825, le canal, long de près de 14 kilomètres, comprend sept écluses et ponts de pierre. Il est élargi en 1843-48 puis en 1873-85.

Le chemin de fer Montréal & Lachine, inauguré en 1847, sert de voie de contournement des rapides, et passe notamment par Saint-Henri. En 1851, rebaptisé Montréal & New York et prolongé à Plattsburg, il sert de nouveau lien avec la grande métropole. En 1859, le réseau du Grand Tronc traverse le quartier en direction de Détroit et plus tard Chicago. Diverses entreprises s'installent sur les berges du canal, pour profiter entre autres choses de son pouvoir hydraulique. De rural et artisanal, le paysage de Saint-Henri se transforme au rythme de la croissance industrielle.

La paroisse Saint-Henri-des-Tanneries est fondée en 1867, quelques années avant l'établissement de la municipalité Saint-Henri (1875) proprement dite. Les premières églises et les premiers bâtiments scolaires voient le jour, autant chez les anglophones que chez les francophones. Saint-Henri-des-Tanneries attire, grâce à ses emplois, beaucoup de ruraux du sud-ouest du Québec. Les zones résidentielles s'accroissent ; des maisons de brique à deux étages en rangée sont construites, le plus souvent par des promoteurs immobiliers.

1876 1929

1876-1929

Deuxième phase d'urbanisation : une ville constituée

Les limites de la municipalité de Saint-Henri sont redécoupées quelques années après sa fondation. En 1879, elle est bordée au sud par le canal de Lachine, à l'est par l'avenue Atwater, au nord par la côte derrière la rue Saint-Antoine et à l'ouest par le chemin de la côte Saint-Paul.

L'industrie croît et c'est le début de l'âge d'or du canal de Lachine avec entre autres les tanneries industrielles Moseley and Ricker et Thomas Ecroyd, la Dominion Textile, la RCA, la William Sewing Machine et la Canada Malting.

Les conditions de travail sont des plus pénibles. Hommes, femmes et enfants travaillent d'arrache-pied pour un maigre salaire. Ils luttent pour obtenir de meilleures conditions de travail, établissent des syndicats et participent à la mise sur pied de sociétés de secours populaire et de garderies en milieu ouvrier.

Chargée par les dettes liées à une industrialisation rapide, Saint-Henri est annexée à la Ville de Montréal en 1905. Son espace est désormais urbanisé, bénéficiant de services publics comme l'éclairage des rues, le service d'aqueduc, une brigade de pompiers et de policiers. Des commerces, des églises, un marché, quelques rares parcs publics et des centres de loisirs complètent l'offre de services. La spéculation foncière et l'explosion démographique à laquelle elle est liée ont des répercussions sur les conditions d'habitation (piètres logements) et d'environnement (pollution). La petite bourgeoisie se fait construire des maisons, notamment autour des deux squares, tandis que les ouvriers occupent des logements dans des immeubles à deux ou trois étages en brique. Saint-Henri est un petit monde, une ville de la révolution industrielle dans une métropole en croissance.

Image : HM_ARC_005224

Atlas de Montréal, Ville de Saint-Henri
1879
Carte
45 cm
72 cm
Dinu Bumbaru
© Dinu Bumbaru / © Héritage Montréal


1876-1929

Deuxième phase d'urbanisation : une ville constituée

Les limites de la municipalité de Saint-Henri sont redécoupées quelques années après sa fondation. En 1879, elle est bordée au sud par le canal de Lachine, à l'est par l'avenue Atwater, au nord par la côte derrière la rue Saint-Antoine et à l'ouest par le chemin de la côte Saint-Paul.

L'industrie croît et c'est le début de l'âge d'or du canal de Lachine avec entre autres les tanneries industrielles Moseley and Ricker et Thomas Ecroyd, la Dominion Textile, la RCA, la William Sewing Machine et la Canada Malting.

Les conditions de travail sont des plus pénibles. Hommes, femmes et enfants travaillent d'arrache-pied pour un maigre salaire. Ils luttent pour obtenir de meilleures conditions de travail, établissent des syndicats et participent à la mise sur pied de sociétés de secours populaire et de garderies en milieu ouvrier.

Chargée par les dettes liées à une industrialisation rapide, Saint-Henri est annexée à la Ville de Montréal en 1905. Son espace est désormais urbanisé, bénéficiant de services publics comme l'éclairage des rues, le service d'aqueduc, une brigade de pompiers et de policiers. Des commerces, des églises, un marché, quelques rares parcs publics et des centres de loisirs complètent l'offre de services. La spéculation foncière et l'explosion démographique à laquelle elle est liée ont des répercussions sur les conditions d'habitation (piètres logements) et d'environnement (pollution). La petite bourgeoisie se fait construire des maisons, notamment autour des deux squares, tandis que les ouvriers occupent des logements dans des immeubles à deux ou trois étages en brique. Saint-Henri est un petit monde, une ville de la révolution industrielle dans une métropole en croissance.

Image : HM_ARC_005155

Vue quartier Saint-Henri

Diapositive
2.5 cm
3.5 cm
Jacques Dumouchel
© Jean Bélisle, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005253

Monument à Jacques Cartier

Carte postale
13.8 cm
8.6 cm
Dinu Bumbaru
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004691

Sculpture-fontaine dans le square Georges-Étienne Cartier

Photographie
10.1 cm
15.1 cm
Ville de Montréal
© Direction du développement culturel, Ville de Montréal, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003554

Dominion Textile Company (rue St-Ambroise)
1909
Dessin
BANQ, Albums de rues E.-Z. Massicotte
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Albums de rues E.-Z. Massicotte – MAS 5-35-a, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_003627

Vue sur le canal de Lachine (à partir d'un bâteau)

Carte postale
BANQ
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_004191

Vue de Montréal depuis la cheminée de la centrale de la Montreal Street Railway, Qc, 1896
1896
Photographie
20 cm
25 cm
Musée McCord
© Musée McCord, © Héritage Montréal


1930 1973

1930-1973

Saint-Henri décline et s'endort

Avec la crise de 1929, le secours direct est instauré et de nombreux travaux publics, comme la construction du marché Atwater et la caserne de pompiers combinée au poste de police, sont lancés pour supporter l'emploi. De complexe industriel majeur au pays, Saint-Henri devient un quartier en déclin. Plusieurs usines ferment et autant d'entreprises quittent pour de plus récents parcs industriels. Les ouvriers n'ont plus de travail, plusieurs émigrent dans d'autres quartiers. L'ouverture de la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent en 1959 met un terme à l'utilisation du canal de Lachine comme voie de communication et épine dorsale de l'activité industrielle. Le canal cesse ses opérations en 1973.

Dans les années 1960, la démolition de l'église et du Collège Saint-Henri et la construction de l'autoroute Ville-Marie et de l'échangeur Turcot sont un coup dur au quartier. La polyvalente Saint-Henri, de style plutôt brutaliste, s'ajoute au milieu. Le quartier s'appauvrit et vieillit, mais il voit aussi apparaître des groupes populaires qui se mobilisent pour maintenir une qualité de vie.

Image : HM_ARC_004256

Rue Notre-Dame, vers l'ouest, depuis la rue Saint-Henri

Photographie
BANQ
© Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (P20,S3,P39), © Héritage Montréal


1930-1973

Saint-Henri décline et s'endort

Avec la crise de 1929, le secours direct est instauré et de nombreux travaux publics, comme la construction du marché Atwater et la caserne de pompiers combinée au poste de police, sont lancés pour supporter l'emploi. De complexe industriel majeur au pays, Saint-Henri devient un quartier en déclin. Plusieurs usines ferment et autant d'entreprises quittent pour de plus récents parcs industriels. Les ouvriers n'ont plus de travail, plusieurs émigrent dans d'autres quartiers. L'ouverture de la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent en 1959 met un terme à l'utilisation du canal de Lachine comme voie de communication et épine dorsale de l'activité industrielle. Le canal cesse ses opérations en 1973.

Dans les années 1960, la démolition de l'église et du Collège Saint-Henri et la construction de l'autoroute Ville-Marie et de l'échangeur Turcot sont un coup dur au quartier. La polyvalente Saint-Henri, de style plutôt brutaliste, s'ajoute au milieu. Le quartier s'appauvrit et vieillit, mais il voit aussi apparaître des groupes populaires qui se mobilisent pour maintenir une qualité de vie.

Image : HM_ARC_004952

Marché Atwater
1989-1990
Photographie
6 cm
6 cm
Brian Merrett
© Brian Merrett, www.archiguides.com, réf.163X, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005535

Caserne no 24 et camions de pompiers

Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (VM94Z-626-1), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005157

Caserne de pompiers, Saint-Henri

Diapositive
2.5 cm
3.5 cm
Jean Bélisle
© Jean Bélisle, © Héritage Montréal


1974 2008

1974-2008

Un nouveau vent souffle sur Saint-Henri

En 1974, le gouvernement fédéral déclare le canal de Lachine lieu à vocation socio-culturelle tandis que la station de métro Place Saint-Henri est inaugurée en 1980. Près de 50 pourcent de la population du secteur est alors sans emploi.

La création du RESO (Regroupement pour la relance économique et sociale du Sud-Ouest) en 1989, de même que l'implication des milieux communautaire, syndical et des affaires entraînent une série d'actions pour le développement de l'emploi, l'accessibilité au logement, la qualité de vie, l'aménagement, etc.

Dans cette foulée, le plan d'urbanisme de 1992 consolide la vocation industrielle du canal de Lachine : des entreprises comme les Toiles Johnson, les studios d'enregistrement Studio Victor, la micro-brasserie McAuslan, Domtex, le centre de transport Saint-Henri, mais aussi une industrie culturelle (artistes, photographes, artisans, producteurs de films) investissent le quartier.

Désigné lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine en 1996, le canal et ses environs sont revitalisés grâce à des fonds publics et des investissements privés. Le quartier est aujourd'hui une zone récréative urbaine à proximité du centre-ville, mais également un agréable quartier populaire. Il poursuit ses efforts de revitalisation à la fois pour satisfaire les aspirations de son ancienne population et pour attirer de nouveaux résidants travailleurs.

Image : HM_ARC_003372

Esquisse de la station Place-Saint-Henri (entrée sud-ouest)
1974
Esquisse
Archives de la Société des transports de Montréal
© Fonds de Commission de transport de Montréal, Archives de la STM (Promenade Janvier 1974), © Héritage Montréal


1974-2008

Un nouveau vent souffle sur Saint-Henri

En 1974, le gouvernement fédéral déclare le canal de Lachine lieu à vocation socio-culturelle tandis que la station de métro Place Saint-Henri est inaugurée en 1980. Près de 50 pourcent de la population du secteur est alors sans emploi.

La création du RESO (Regroupement pour la relance économique et sociale du Sud-Ouest) en 1989, de même que l'implication des milieux communautaire, syndical et des affaires entraînent une série d'actions pour le développement de l'emploi, l'accessibilité au logement, la qualité de vie, l'aménagement, etc.

Dans cette foulée, le plan d'urbanisme de 1992 consolide la vocation industrielle du canal de Lachine : des entreprises comme les Toiles Johnson, les studios d'enregistrement Studio Victor, la micro-brasserie McAuslan, Domtex, le centre de transport Saint-Henri, mais aussi une industrie culturelle (artistes, photographes, artisans, producteurs de films) investissent le quartier.

Désigné lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine en 1996, le canal et ses environs sont revitalisés grâce à des fonds publics et des investissements privés. Le quartier est aujourd'hui une zone récréative urbaine à proximité du centre-ville, mais également un agréable quartier populaire. Il poursuit ses efforts de revitalisation à la fois pour satisfaire les aspirations de son ancienne population et pour attirer de nouveaux résidants travailleurs.

Image : HM_ARC_004824

Vue aérienne du canal de Lachine

Photographie
Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal Inc.
© Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal Inc. © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_005156

Studios RCA Victor

Diapositive
2.5 cm
3.5 cm
Jean Bélisle
© Jean Bélisle, © Héritage Montréal