Neighbourhood Petite-Patrie

History

1707 1780

1707-1780

Côte-de-la-Visitation

Granted to the Sulpicians in 1707, the territory covered by today's Petite-Patrie was originally known as Côte-de-la-Visitation. A toll station was built here granting access to the Petite-Côte Road for those wishing to travel to the north of the island.

Image : HM_ARC_005233

Atlas of the City and Island of Montreal Canada, Villages of Côte Saint-Louis, Saint-Louis-du-Mile-End and Côte-des-Neiges
1879
45 cm
72 cm
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal


1707-1780

Côte-de-la-Visitation

Granted to the Sulpicians in 1707, the territory covered by today's Petite-Patrie was originally known as Côte-de-la-Visitation. A toll station was built here granting access to the Petite-Côte Road for those wishing to travel to the north of the island.

1781 1892

1781-1892

A territory with fluctuating boundaries

Limestone deposits began to be exploited here in 1780, including those of Montreal's well-known hard, grey limestone. At the same time, the first agricultural lands began to be farmed by their owners: Comte, Boyer, Hughes, Dorion, and Greaves.

The borders of Petite-Patrie fluctuated widely in the 19th century. First composed of the villages of Côte-de-la-Visitation and Côte-Saint-Louis, the district had grown to include the following four areas by 1878: the village of Côte-de-la-Visitation, the municipality of Saint-Louis du Mile-End, the village of Côte-Saint-Louis, and the southern end of Sault-au-Récollet. Today, the neighbourhood stretches between Jean Talon and Bélanger streets to the north, the Canadian Pacific railroad line to the south and west, and Iberville Street to the east.

Image : HM_ARC_005219

Atlas of the City and Island of Montreal Canada, Villages of Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Côte Saint-Louis and Saint-Louis-du-Mile-End
1879
45 cm
72 cm
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal


1781-1892

A territory with fluctuating boundaries

Limestone deposits began to be exploited here in 1780, including those of Montreal's well-known hard, grey limestone. At the same time, the first agricultural lands began to be farmed by their owners: Comte, Boyer, Hughes, Dorion, and Greaves.

The borders of Petite-Patrie fluctuated widely in the 19th century. First composed of the villages of Côte-de-la-Visitation and Côte-Saint-Louis, the district had grown to include the following four areas by 1878: the village of Côte-de-la-Visitation, the municipality of Saint-Louis du Mile-End, the village of Côte-Saint-Louis, and the southern end of Sault-au-Récollet. Today, the neighbourhood stretches between Jean Talon and Bélanger streets to the north, the Canadian Pacific railroad line to the south and west, and Iberville Street to the east.

1893 1930

1893-1930

The neighbourhood's east and west ends develop along parallel lines

The arrival of the tramway of the Montreal Park & Island Railway Company in 1893, the decline in infant mortality, and the massive immigration resulting from industrial expansion accelerated development in the west end in a diversified and disorderly fashion. People moving to this sector found a residential refuge that was isolated from industry yet closely linked to it by the tramway. During this period, the founding of the following churches reflected the existence of the three major cultural groups: Saint-Édouard (1895), Saint-Jean-de-la-Croix (1900), Saint-Jean-Berchmans (1908), Notre-Dame-de-la-Défense (1910), Shaw Memorial Methodist (1900), Amherst Park Congregational (1899), and St. Albans American (1898). Developers advertised “the pleasures of country life, clean air, and tranquility, far from the noise of the city.”

Between 1910 and 1930, businesses sprang up along Saint-Hubert Street (now the Plaza Saint-Hubert) and Saint Lawrence Boulevard. Near the railway tracks to the south, the De Lorimier and Martineau quarries were exploited, while the following industrial buildings housed many jobs: the L. Villeneuve & Co. sawmill (1910), the municipal workrooms (1910), the Catelli Factory (1911), and the Coca-Cola Building (1929-30). The garages and warehouses of the Montreal Street Railway Company (now belonging to the STM) were built around 1900.

Image : HM_ARC_003337

Millen tram
January 16 1959
© Fonds de Commission de transport de Montréal, Archives de la STM(S611.1.23_19), © Héritage Montréal


1893-1930

The neighbourhood's east and west ends develop along parallel lines

The arrival of the tramway of the Montreal Park & Island Railway Company in 1893, the decline in infant mortality, and the massive immigration resulting from industrial expansion accelerated development in the west end in a diversified and disorderly fashion. People moving to this sector found a residential refuge that was isolated from industry yet closely linked to it by the tramway. During this period, the founding of the following churches reflected the existence of the three major cultural groups: Saint-Édouard (1895), Saint-Jean-de-la-Croix (1900), Saint-Jean-Berchmans (1908), Notre-Dame-de-la-Défense (1910), Shaw Memorial Methodist (1900), Amherst Park Congregational (1899), and St. Albans American (1898). Developers advertised “the pleasures of country life, clean air, and tranquility, far from the noise of the city.”

Between 1910 and 1930, businesses sprang up along Saint-Hubert Street (now the Plaza Saint-Hubert) and Saint Lawrence Boulevard. Near the railway tracks to the south, the De Lorimier and Martineau quarries were exploited, while the following industrial buildings housed many jobs: the L. Villeneuve & Co. sawmill (1910), the municipal workrooms (1910), the Catelli Factory (1911), and the Coca-Cola Building (1929-30). The garages and warehouses of the Montreal Street Railway Company (now belonging to the STM) were built around 1900.

Image : HM_ARC_004543

Saint-Jean-Berchmans Church

©Fondation du patrimoine religieux du Québec, ©Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_000376

"Facciata nord-ovest della chiesa, Madonna della Difesa - Notre Dame de la Défense"

10.3 cm
15.3 cm


Image : HM_ARC_000726

Église Saint-Édouard, façade

18.3 cm
12.7 cm


Image : HM_ARC_001041

Rue Saint-Hubert en direction nord, à partir de la rue Beaubien



Image : HM_ARC_002239

Old stable on des Carrières Street

© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (U-1017-4), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_000733

Ancienne usine Catelli

12.3 cm
17.5 cm


1931 1970

1931-1970

The economic crisis

To relieve the unemployment problems resulting from the Great Depression of the 1930s, public utilities buildings were constructed, including the Jean-Talon Station, the North Market (now the Jean-Talon Market), the first garbage incinerator, the fire station, and the Shamrock police station. This period was marked by the closing of several quarries, which were converted into municipal garbage dumps and then, in the 1950s, into public parks.

To the east, modest single-family dwellings built in the 1940s and 1950s reflect the relatively good conditions enjoyed by workers.

Image : HM_ARC_001080

Marché Jean-Talon



1931-1970

The economic crisis

To relieve the unemployment problems resulting from the Great Depression of the 1930s, public utilities buildings were constructed, including the Jean-Talon Station, the North Market (now the Jean-Talon Market), the first garbage incinerator, the fire station, and the Shamrock police station. This period was marked by the closing of several quarries, which were converted into municipal garbage dumps and then, in the 1950s, into public parks.

To the east, modest single-family dwellings built in the 1940s and 1950s reflect the relatively good conditions enjoyed by workers.

Image : HM_ARC_002237

Incinerator, des Carrières Street

© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (U-1017-6), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002476

Fire station 47, facade
1975
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Dossier rue 17-10-08-04 R3597.2), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002466

Corner of Saint-Hubert and Fleurimont Street, Rosemont
December 1940
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (17-09-08-04 R-3218.31), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002480

Plaza Saint-Hubert, lit up at night
Circa 1960
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (A-32-11, document électronique 373), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002467

Corner of Saint-Hubert and Saint-Zotique Street
September 1948
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (17-09-08-04 R-3218.31), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002473

Corner of Saint-Denis and Saint-Zotique Street
1948
12.7 cm
17.7 cm
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Dossier rue 17-10-08-04 R3597.2, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002464

Saint-Hubert Street (between Bellechasse and Beaubien)
1937
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (151-6-2-3 VM98 S4 SS1 D4), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_000302

Saint-Denis, Vue aérienne vers le nord

20.2 cm
25.2 cm


1971 2008

1971-2008

Urban revitalization

In the 1970s, residential renovation subsidies made it possible to rehabilitate many housing units. The municipal workrooms were converted into social housing, and the new incinerator, opened in 1969 and now disused, was also given a new lease on life. At the same time, the Millen tramway was replaced by a metro line following basically the same route.

In the 1980s, the neighbourhood attracted more and more immigrants - generally renters and relatively poor - who came from Latin American countries, Haiti, and Asian countries (especially Vietnam). This population contributed to the social diversity of the sector, whose traditional population was growing older and less family oriented.

Today, Petite-Patrie has taken on a whole new aspect. Since the late 1990s, neighbourhood organizations have helped revitalize the sector. In 2000, efforts were made to attract new businesses to the Plaza Saint-Hubert, and the growing number of families has helped revive the neighbourhood spirit.

Image : HM_ARC_002484

Building with municipal workshops, Rosemont Boulevard

© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (U-757-4, document électronique 379), © Héritage Montréal


1971-2008

Urban revitalization

In the 1970s, residential renovation subsidies made it possible to rehabilitate many housing units. The municipal workrooms were converted into social housing, and the new incinerator, opened in 1969 and now disused, was also given a new lease on life. At the same time, the Millen tramway was replaced by a metro line following basically the same route.

In the 1980s, the neighbourhood attracted more and more immigrants - generally renters and relatively poor - who came from Latin American countries, Haiti, and Asian countries (especially Vietnam). This population contributed to the social diversity of the sector, whose traditional population was growing older and less family oriented.

Today, Petite-Patrie has taken on a whole new aspect. Since the late 1990s, neighbourhood organizations have helped revitalize the sector. In 2000, efforts were made to attract new businesses to the Plaza Saint-Hubert, and the growing number of families has helped revive the neighbourhood spirit.

Image : HM_ARC_002482

Covered sidewalks, Saint-Hubert Plaza

© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (A-813-7, document électronique 378), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002489

Sketch of the covered sidewalks, Plaza Saint-Hubert

© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (U-3139, document électronique 429), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002793

Père-Marquette Park

© Ville de Montréal, SDCQMVDE, Direction des grands parcs et de la nature en ville, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_001883

St. Hubert St., one of Canada's largest shopping centers

8.9 cm
14 cm
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal

quartier Petite-Patrie

Son histoire

1707 1780

1707-1780

Côte-de-la-Visitation

D'abord concession des Sulpiciens en 1707, le territoire qui correspond aujourd'hui à la Petite-Patrie porte le nom de Côte-de-la-Visitation. On y trouve un poste de péage qui permet d'entrer dans le chemin de la Petite-Côte pour se diriger vers le nord de l'île.

Image : HM_ARC_005233

Atlas de Montréal, Villages de Côte Saint-Louis, Saint-Louis-du-Mile-End et Côte-des-Neiges
1879
Carte
45 cm
72 cm
Dinu Bumbaru
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal


1707-1780

Côte-de-la-Visitation

D'abord concession des Sulpiciens en 1707, le territoire qui correspond aujourd'hui à la Petite-Patrie porte le nom de Côte-de-la-Visitation. On y trouve un poste de péage qui permet d'entrer dans le chemin de la Petite-Côte pour se diriger vers le nord de l'île.

1781 1892

1781-1892

Un territoire aux limites fluctuantes

C'est en 1780 que débute l'exploitation de gisements calcaires, dont la très réputée pierre grise de Montréal. Au même moment s'engage l'exploitation des premières terres agricoles dont les propriétaires sont Comte, Boyer, Hughes, Dorion, Greaves .

Les limites du territoire de la Petite-Patrie varient grandement au 19e siècle. D'abord constitué des villages de la Côte-de-la-Visitation et de la Côte-Saint-Louis, le vaste territoire comprend ensuite quatre zones, en 1878 : village de la Côte-de-la-Visitation, Saint-Louis du Mile-End, village de la Côte-Saint-Louis et le sud du Sault-au-Récollet. Aujourd'hui, le territoire s'étend entre les rues Jean-Talon et Bélanger au nord, la voie ferrée du Canadien Pacifique au sud et à l'ouest et la rue Iberville à l'est.

Image : HM_ARC_005219

Atlas de Montréal, villages de Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Côte Saint-Louis et Saint-Louis-du-Mile-End
1879
Carte
45 cm
72 cm
Dinu Bumbaru
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal


1781-1892

Un territoire aux limites fluctuantes

C'est en 1780 que débute l'exploitation de gisements calcaires, dont la très réputée pierre grise de Montréal. Au même moment s'engage l'exploitation des premières terres agricoles dont les propriétaires sont Comte, Boyer, Hughes, Dorion, Greaves .

Les limites du territoire de la Petite-Patrie varient grandement au 19e siècle. D'abord constitué des villages de la Côte-de-la-Visitation et de la Côte-Saint-Louis, le vaste territoire comprend ensuite quatre zones, en 1878 : village de la Côte-de-la-Visitation, Saint-Louis du Mile-End, village de la Côte-Saint-Louis et le sud du Sault-au-Récollet. Aujourd'hui, le territoire s'étend entre les rues Jean-Talon et Bélanger au nord, la voie ferrée du Canadien Pacifique au sud et à l'ouest et la rue Iberville à l'est.

1893 1930

1893-1930

L'ouest et l'est du quartier se développent en parallèle

L'arrivée du tramway de la Montreal Park & Island en 1893, la baisse de la mortalité infantile et l'immigration massive liée à l'essor industriel accélèrent le développement à l'ouest de façon très diversifiée, voire désordonnée. Les gens se déplacent dans le secteur et y trouvent un refuge résidentiel à l'abri des industries mais bien relié à celles-ci par le tramway. Les églises Saint-Édouard (1895), Saint-Jean-de-la-Croix (1900), Saint-Jean-Berchmans (1908), Notre-Dame-de-la-Défense (1910), Shaw Memorial Methodist 1900), Amherst Park, Congregational (1899) et St.Albans American (1898) sont fondées au cours de cette période, reflétant notamment l'existence des trois groupes culturels présents dans le secteur. Les promoteurs leur vantent « les mérites de la vie à la campagne, l'air pur, le calme, loin de la rumeur de la ville ».

Entre 1910 et 1930, ce sont les commerces qui poussent en grand nombre rue Saint-Hubert (l'actuelle Plaza Saint-Hubert) et boulevard Saint-Laurent. Au sud, près des voies ferrées, les carrières De Lorimier et Martineau sont exploitées tandis que des bâtiments industriels, dont la cour à bois L. Villeneuve & Cie (1910), les ateliers municipaux (1910), l'usine Catelli en 1911 et l'édifice de la Coca-Cola (1929-30), génèrent plusieurs emplois. Les garages et entrepôts de la Montreal Street Railways (aujourd'hui garages de la STM) sont installés vers 1900.

Image : HM_ARC_003337

Le tramway Millen
16 janvier 1959
Photographie
Archives de la Société des transports de Montréal
© Fonds de Commission de transport de Montréal, Archives de la STM (S611.1.23_19), © Héritage Montréal


1893-1930

L'ouest et l'est du quartier se développent en parallèle

L'arrivée du tramway de la Montreal Park & Island en 1893, la baisse de la mortalité infantile et l'immigration massive liée à l'essor industriel accélèrent le développement à l'ouest de façon très diversifiée, voire désordonnée. Les gens se déplacent dans le secteur et y trouvent un refuge résidentiel à l'abri des industries mais bien relié à celles-ci par le tramway. Les églises Saint-Édouard (1895), Saint-Jean-de-la-Croix (1900), Saint-Jean-Berchmans (1908), Notre-Dame-de-la-Défense (1910), Shaw Memorial Methodist 1900), Amherst Park, Congregational (1899) et St.Albans American (1898) sont fondées au cours de cette période, reflétant notamment l'existence des trois groupes culturels présents dans le secteur. Les promoteurs leur vantent « les mérites de la vie à la campagne, l'air pur, le calme, loin de la rumeur de la ville ».

Entre 1910 et 1930, ce sont les commerces qui poussent en grand nombre rue Saint-Hubert (l'actuelle Plaza Saint-Hubert) et boulevard Saint-Laurent. Au sud, près des voies ferrées, les carrières De Lorimier et Martineau sont exploitées tandis que des bâtiments industriels, dont la cour à bois L. Villeneuve & Cie (1910), les ateliers municipaux (1910), l'usine Catelli en 1911 et l'édifice de la Coca-Cola (1929-30), génèrent plusieurs emplois. Les garages et entrepôts de la Montreal Street Railways (aujourd'hui garages de la STM) sont installés vers 1900.

Image : HM_ARC_004543

Façade de l'Église Saint-Jean-Berchmans

Photographie
Fondation du patrimoine religieux du Québec
©Fondation du patrimoine religieux du Québec, ©Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_000376

"Facciata nord-ovest della chiesa, Madonna della Difesa - Notre Dame de la Défense"
Date inconnue
Carte postale
10.3 cm
15.3 cm
Archives de la Paroisse Notre-Dame-de-la-Défense
© Archives de la Paroisse Notre-Dame-de-la-Défense© Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_000726

Église Saint-Édouard, façade
1974
Photographie
18.3 cm
12.7 cm
© Fonds du Service de la mise en valeur du territoire et du patrimoine, Bureau du patrimoine, de la toponymie et de l’expertise, (6500, rue De Saint-Vallier, Rosemont∕La Petite-Patrie), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_001041

Rue Saint-Hubert en direction nord, à partir de la rue Beaubien
4 octobre 1937
Photographie
Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives, (VM94,Z179-2), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002239

Ancienne écurie de la rue des Carrières

Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (U-1017-4), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_000733

Ancienne usine Catelli
1980
Photographie
12.3 cm
17.5 cm
© Fonds du Service de la mise en valeur du territoire et du patrimoine, Bureau du patrimoine, de la toponymie et de l’expertise, (305, rue Bellechasse, Rosemont∕La Petite-Patrie), © Héritage Montréal


1931 1970

1931-1970

La crise

Pour combattre le chômage engendré par la crise économique des années1930, la construction de bâtiments publics utilitaires est réalisée dont la gare Jean-Talon, le marché du Nord (futur marché Jean-Talon), le premier incinérateur à déchets, la caserne de pompiers et le poste de police Shamrock. Cette période est marquée par la fermeture de plusieurs carrières, qui sont transformées en dépotoirs municipaux, eux-mêmes convertis en parcs publics dans les années 1950.

À l'est se profilent des maisons unifamiliales plutôt modestes des années 1940-1950, mais qui reflètent les assez bonnes conditions de travail des ouvriers.

Image : HM_ARC_001080

Marché Jean-Talon

Photographie
Ville de Montréal. Gestion des documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives, (VM6,R3576-2-1), © Héritage Montréal


1931-1970

La crise

Pour combattre le chômage engendré par la crise économique des années1930, la construction de bâtiments publics utilitaires est réalisée dont la gare Jean-Talon, le marché du Nord (futur marché Jean-Talon), le premier incinérateur à déchets, la caserne de pompiers et le poste de police Shamrock. Cette période est marquée par la fermeture de plusieurs carrières, qui sont transformées en dépotoirs municipaux, eux-mêmes convertis en parcs publics dans les années 1950.

À l'est se profilent des maisons unifamiliales plutôt modestes des années 1940-1950, mais qui reflètent les assez bonnes conditions de travail des ouvriers.

Image : HM_ARC_002237

Incinérateur, rue des Carrières

Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal. Gestion de documents et archives (U-1017-6), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002476

Maison de la culture et caserne no 47
1975
Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Dossier rue 17-10-08-04 R3597.2), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002466

Coin de la rue Saint-Hubert et Fleurimont (Rosemont)
Décembre 1940
Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (17-09-08-04 R-3218.31), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002480

La Plaza Saint-Hubert éclairée en soirée
Vers 1960
Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (A-32-11, document électronique 373), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002467

Angle de la rue Saint-Hubert et Saint-Zotique
Septembre 1948
Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (17-09-08-04 R-3218.31), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002473

Coin des rue Saint-Denis et Saint-Zotique
1948
Photographie
12.7 cm
17.7 cm
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (Dossier rue 17-10-08-04 R3597.2, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002464

Rue Saint-Hubert entre Bellechasse et Beaubien
1937
Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (151-6-2-3 VM98 S4 SS1 D4), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_000302

Saint-Denis, Vue aérienne vers le nord
24 janvier 1956
Photographie
20.2 cm
25.2 cm
Archives de la STM
© Fonds de Commission de transport de Montréal, Archives de la STM, 2-956-014© Héritage Montréal


1971 2008

1971-2008

Vers une revitalisation urbaine

Dans les années 1970, des subventions à la rénovation de logement rendent possible la restauration de plusieurs unités d'habitation. Des lieux sont ainsi transformés, comme les ateliers municipaux appelés à être convertis en logements sociaux. Le nouvel incinérateur ouvert en 1969, bien qu'aujourd'hui inutilisé, doit aussi avoir une nouvelle vocation. Parallèlement, le tramway Millen est « remplacé » par la ligne de métro qui emprunte sensiblement le même tracé.

Dans les années 1980, le quartier accueille de plus en plus d'immigrants, le plus souvent locataires et relativement pauvres, qui proviennent de pays latino-américains, d'Haïti et de pays asiatiques (surtout Vietnam). Cette population contribue à la diversité sociale du secteur dont la population traditionnelle est de plus en plus âgée et de moins en moins familiale.

Aujourd'hui, le visage de la Petite-Patrie sourit. Depuis la fin des années 1990, les organismes du milieu contribuent à insuffler un nouveau dynamisme dans le quartier. Divers moyens d'attirer des commerces sur la Plaza sont pris en 2000, et les familles sont de retour, ranimant du coup la vie de quartier.

Image : HM_ARC_002484

Bâtiment des ateliers de la Ville de Montréal, boulevard Rosemont

Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (U-757-4, document électronique 379), © Héritage Montréal


1971-2008

Vers une revitalisation urbaine

Dans les années 1970, des subventions à la rénovation de logement rendent possible la restauration de plusieurs unités d'habitation. Des lieux sont ainsi transformés, comme les ateliers municipaux appelés à être convertis en logements sociaux. Le nouvel incinérateur ouvert en 1969, bien qu'aujourd'hui inutilisé, doit aussi avoir une nouvelle vocation. Parallèlement, le tramway Millen est « remplacé » par la ligne de métro qui emprunte sensiblement le même tracé.

Dans les années 1980, le quartier accueille de plus en plus d'immigrants, le plus souvent locataires et relativement pauvres, qui proviennent de pays latino-américains, d'Haïti et de pays asiatiques (surtout Vietnam). Cette population contribue à la diversité sociale du secteur dont la population traditionnelle est de plus en plus âgée et de moins en moins familiale.

Aujourd'hui, le visage de la Petite-Patrie sourit. Depuis la fin des années 1990, les organismes du milieu contribuent à insuffler un nouveau dynamisme dans le quartier. Divers moyens d'attirer des commerces sur la Plaza sont pris en 2000, et les familles sont de retour, ranimant du coup la vie de quartier.

Image : HM_ARC_002482

Les trottoirs couverts de la plaza Saint-Hubert

Photographie
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (A-813-7, document électronique 378), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002489

Schéma des abris de trottoir de la plaza Saint-Hubert

Dessin
Ville de Montréal.Gestion de documents et archives
© Ville de Montréal, Gestion de documents et archives (U-3139, document électronique 429), © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_002793

Parc Père-Marquette

Photographie
Ville de Montréal, SDCQMVDE
© Ville de Montréal, SDCQMVDE, Direction des grands parcs et de la nature en ville, © Héritage Montréal


Image : HM_ARC_001883

Rue Saint-Hubert, Saint Hubert BBQ

Carte postale
8.9 cm
14 cm
Dinu Bumbaru
© Dinu Bumbaru, © Héritage Montréal